As for me and my family we will live amongst ‘the crazies’

18 Nov

I really like downtown Pittsburgh, I like it a lot. In fact I’d like to buy a home nearby. People say, “watch out for the crazies!” But I like crazy eccentric interesting people. I really do.

I grew up in rural America and didn’t really care for it. In 1991 I moved to Pittsburgh to attend college and, after graduating, ended up moving to several rural areas to advance my career. And just like my hometown, I didn’t especially like those places either.

So it was a life-changing experience in 2008 when I reconnected with @trashyleesuh and got a job in downtown Pittsburgh. I felt like I was back where I belong. The skyline, unique architecture and cute buildings, public transportation (late buses), panhandlers, street preachers … all of the things I missed so much were now right outside of my office window.

Three+ years later and we’re looking for a house to buy, her and I. A new neighborhood to explore, a community to join. I’m tempted to drive across a bridge or ‘up the parkway’ to a quiet suburban neighborhood and buy a cute little home beside cute little neighbors. But I’m also reminded of the beautiful chaos that I first found living downtown. And I really hope that I cannot only live amongst that chaos, but become an active part of it.

Growing up, my grandmother had a magnet attached to her refrigerator that said, “As for me and my family we will serve the lord.” I never found Jesus but I did find a place on Earth that I love.

2 Responses to “As for me and my family we will live amongst ‘the crazies’”

  1. Dave January 5, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    The two of you should move to Dormont! Screw the East End or whatever hip name they’re giving it now. You know, it really is where hipsters go to have kids!!

    • @technicolor_cat January 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      We like Dormont, if we left the city we would probably move South. Your area is close to everything, we like the neighborhood near the trolley out there too. And although we’re not having any children, leesuh does have her heart set on a pet monkey.

Leave a Reply

