budgie

14 Oct

man oh man, when I lived in Allentown, PA, it was difficult to find good radio stations. I mean there were a shit-ton of commercial stations but not much else. I did find a small college radio station that played decent artists – well, when they had students willing to broadcast. unfortunately, more often than not there weren’t students playing music so this semi-pro DJ would come in to spin tunes and he always played budgie. over and over. budgie.

you’d be jamming out to obscure ’80s punk or ’70s glam and all of the sudden the kid DJ would be like ‘well that’s it for my shift and I don’t think anyone showed up to take the overnight, sooooo … what’s his name is on his way and he’ll play you songs all weekend long.’

there would be static for 20 minutes and then what’s his name opens the mic breathing heavily and saying ‘hey everyone! got the call they needed a fill-in! well I brought all my budgie CDs so let’s get right to it!’

and then at least 18 hours of budgie. I mean it was cool for a few hours. but it was just wall-to-wall budgie. sometimes he’d mix it up and play budgie covers. or budgie doing covers. he’d seek requests and then go to ‘commercial break,’ only to return laughing and saying ‘well I just got a request for ‘anything but budgie!”

and then he played more budgie.

Leave a Reply

